Picture
CMNSU is a departmental student union that connects students with Communications-related information by liaising with the department staff and other students. They organize Communication FROSH, workshops and events throughout the school year. The general meetings are a great way to meet other communication staff and students, and learn how to make the most of your undergraduate degree. 

At the CMNSU General Meeting, I wanted to learn about ways I can get more involved. In the time that I was away, I also couldn’t have applied for any team positions because those required me to attend interviews that would be conducted while I was still on the tour. Luckily, I am able to participate on the Street Team and help out with any events. Attending the meeting was a great opportunity to speak with Neena, our Communications Undergraduate Advisor. She gave us helpful advice regarding courses, our majors, and even gave us a brief yoga class to help us de-stress.

Another thing that was discussed during the meeting was the Career in Communications 2013 event that was held on March 20 at the Vancouver Art Gallery Lounge Cafe. Unfortunately I was away, but it would have been a great opportunity to meet with some industry professionals from Electronic Arts, Fleishman-Hillard, Hootsuite, Holt Renfrew, JRFM, and Tribal DDB. I may have missed this event, but it certainly does not stop me from speaking with these professionals. I am quite eager to speak with these guests, so I contacted some of them via Twitter or e-mail. They were happy to answer my questions, and some are even willing to meet up with me!

The school year is almost over, but CMNSU will be having monthly workshops over the summer. In May, there will be a personal branding workshop with Teri Conrad, a Communications, Brand, and Promotions Strategist. In June, I am excited to attend the Introduction to Public Relations workshop with Rachel Thexton, who is an Associate Partner at Dunn Public Relations. Finally, in July there is a workshop with Amanda Panes, the Promotional Coordinator for JRFM, on blogging. I am excited for these workshops because I can develop communication skills from industry professionals. Overall, it was great seeing familiar faces and Communications classmates at the meeting. I will definitely be more involved with CMNSU in the upcoming school year.  


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.


Stephanie Munez