Picture
My co-op work term may be over, but my interest in public relations is here to stay. I still have much to learn about the industry, so I have decided to spend my free time networking. I have been in contact with a few public relations agencies that are willing to meet with me, and the first one is Allison Arnould, the Human Resources representative at Edelman.

Edelman has been ranked as the #1 public relations agency in Business in Vancouver, and has been awarded titles like 50 Most Engaged Workplaces 2011/2012 and Best Workplace 2012/2013 Canada. Allison says that their success can be attributed with the fact that they use social media and digital tools to be the leading independent global public relations firm. The company applies honesty, integrity, creativity, and entrepreneurial spirit on all of their projects. Some of the projects that Edelman has worked on include Live@YVR, where a contest was conducted for someone to live at YVR airport for 80 days and share his or her experience; the 2010 Canadian Olympic Team Apparel Campaign for HBC; LiveCity Vancouver, a celebration site for the 2010 Winter Olympics; and Resort Municipality of Whistler, the branding for the Olympics. A quote I found on their website by John Edelman states that it is important to be a “responsible global citizen of the world we live in and give back to communities we operate.”

From Allison’s experience in the Human Resources field in Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom, she advised me to be more involved in community events and stay updated within the industry that is constantly changing due to technological advancements. She also mentioned one of the great things about working for their company is Edelman’s fellowship. She says that because Edelman has offices around the world, their employees have the opportunity to work at the other offices. I appreciate Allison spending some time to speak with me in Edelman’s new office, despite her busy schedule. She was a pleasure to meet with and I learned so much from her.    


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.


Stephanie Munez