Picture
Talk Shop Media was established by Beth Boyle, Sara Padidar, and Katie Reiach in 2007. Their goal was to deviate from formality and tradition to make an impact on people using a three-pronged approach: traditional media relations, online PR, and direct to public and experiential marketing. This approach is one of the reasons why Talk Shop Media was recently announced as one of the Top 10 Best PR Firms in Business in Vancouver 2013. Their hard work has also yielded to client front-page features and interviews on Oprah and the CNN. Some of their projects include the Vancouver Whitecaps, Live at Squamish 2011, Mini Cooper, TEDx, and Toyota.

This afternoon I met with Tara Padidar, their General Manager. I asked her how to get involved with PRIME (Public Relations Innovators and Media Experts) because it is a great opportunity for public relations professionals to share knowledge with each other. The group, that is primarily organized by Talk Shop, has a mission statement of “we share more, we achieve more.” I believe this will be a great chance for me to gain more exposure to the industry during the summer months because Tara mentioned that there will be a meeting scheduled soon.

Another thing we talked about was the importance of keeping up with the news and media. Prior to meeting with Tara, I only followed between five to ten news outlets on Twitter and kept up with their updates on a daily basis. One of the things that I will work on this summer is to follow more news outlets on Twitter to get coverage on a broad range of topics and different interpretations on the news. This evening I now follow 32 local and international news outlets, as well as a few public relations trending topic outlets. However, online news is only one dimension of media, so I will start consulting TV and radio outlets as well. I always look for ways to learn and improve myself, so thank you Tara for helping me do so.    


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.


Stephanie Munez